Christmas time

I’ve been waiting for this ever looming ‘snow’ to strike, before I wrote another post, yet this ‘snow’ character hasn’t shown his face! Much to my disappointment this ‘worse winter in 10 years’ has been reasonably tame with only a bit of sled to ruffle the Yorkies feathers. This sled however, caused quite the scene, causing bad weather warnings to be splashed about left right and centre. So I can understand it when I’m told the entire country grinds to a holt at the presence of this ‘snow’ character. How silly, for a country that experiences it every year you’d think they’d become accustomed by now. But no, they’re just as frightened as me! Frightened because that ‘cold’ day we had a week or so ago was 1 degree and I don’t think I’ve ever been as cold.

As for travel plans, me and Dan are getting back on the road in 3 weeks. We fly from Manchester to Berlin on the 31st, have a Berlin New Years with the other million or so people at the Brandenburg gate! Then party for two day, BERLIN STYLE, I doubt we will be able to keep up, those Berliners know how to party. We then stay in Berlin with Dommy and Iris until the 9th when we fly to Athens, we spend one night in Athens before we catch a Ferry to Santorini Island, an 8 hour ferry ride I might add! In Santorini we are working at a hostel called Caveland (check it out!) here we are volunteering in exchange for breakfast and accommodation for 3-4 hours per day, 5 days a week. It is the down season so the owner estimates that some days there are no customers some days 1-2. We stay in Santorini until the end of February when we fly to our next destination in Greece to do some Wwooffing. (Willing Workers On Organic Farms) we currently have two options with this, either a small organic farm growing vegetables and olives with horses and dogs, or a larger farm making wine. Either way, wwooffing works by us working voluntarily for 4-5 hours per day 5 days a week in exchange for food & accomodation. We then have a maximum of 3 months in Greece, with me having no visa I am only allowed to stay for this long. After Greece at the end of March, we have the option of working, again volunteering in exchange for food & accomodation, in Turkey, Istanbul, at a hostel called Hush, for two months. This is not finalised yet.

So, since my last post me & Dan have been working 5 days a week, me at Nestlé, typing invoices, sorting out unsent orders and scanning complaint letters, and Dan, making sandwiches. All in order to do these exciting things mentioned above! York is very pretty at the moment, with a cute little Christmas market in the centre of town, Christmas lights on every light post and chestnut and mulled wine carts on every street corner. I am looking forwards to our Christmas, with Christmas dinner at Lynnes house, Dans mums, and hopefully by then ‘snow’ will finally show it’s face! But I’m not holding my breath.

Merry Christmas!!!!

20131207-112515.jpg

20131208-172119.jpg

20131208-172107.jpg

One thought on “Christmas time

Leave a Reply

