10 day juice fast. DAY 1: I’m already hungry

Woke up this morning after pre-juice fasting panic dreams. In my dreams I was starving… I was dreading being hungry… I was panicking I’d forget that I couldn’t eat.
Woke up at 6.30am feeling very weary eyed and not at all looking forwards to the day. Dan was amped… He was ready to go.

Had a cup of warm water and half a lemon juice to aid the digestive system-a new daily routine, you can read about the positives of having a hot lemon drink here : Why drink hot lemon in the morning
Throughout the morning service at work, I was very aware of the forecasted first few days of this fast- the first few days are the hardest, your expected to be low in energy, moody and weary eyed. But this fades and your energy levels are expected to rise dramatically. So I very AWARE of this… This was proving to be counterproductive to my mood- especially considering it was the FIRST morning.
Morning juice:
1 cup of blueberries
3 celery stalks and leaves
1 cucumber
2 apples
3 oranges

Had two glasses each over 2 hours.
Very nice tasting… Refreshing with the cucumber. Tip: frozen blueberries won’t juice.

Lunch:
Woke up after a nap STARVING and craving ice cream and caramel sauce. Questioning WHY WHY WHY. Suggested to Dan we just try to eat raw food instead. He said no…I need to be strong! Argh
1 cucumber
1 courgette
2 celery stalks
4 carrots
1 lump of ginger

Dinner:
Had to serve a BBQ for the centre this evening. Sausages, chicken kebabs, pasta salad, cake, potato salad. And we were looking forwards to our green juice….NOT

1 handful of spinach
2 apples
2 celery stalks
1 courgette
1/2 a cucumber
1 lemon

Dreading going to bed… I can’t sleep when I’m hungry.

20140708-164037-60037421.jpg

20140708-164042-60042157.jpg

20140708-164040-60040138.jpg

3 thoughts on “10 day juice fast. DAY 1: I’m already hungry

  1. tanyakristin says:

    It’s interesting how ones brain deals with fasting – I have to get to a point where I am not thinking about food as an option and then it’s ok. And work on not being grumpy. (Watch out Dan)

    1. thisbeparepa says:

      Yeah, it’s the times when I usually eat that I struggle… What to do?! I feel great today: Day 2. Only getting grumpy at dinner service….all those ungrateful children eating delicious food that I want!!!

      1. tanyakristin says:

        I have never done the juice fast as long as that, but I try to not take my brain rambling seriously – as if it’s a toddler whinging and trying to change my mind.

Leave a Reply

