Day 2: Sweating and starving

Day 2 of my 10 day juice fasting and I can’t get out of bed. The majority of the night I’m lying in a pool of my own sweat- which is a sign that my liver is working..hard.
Or I was up and down to the bathroom.
I woke up to a thumping headache, a stomach which was churning and absolutely NO motivation to get out of bed.
I just want to reiterate what my job includes while here at the eagles nest- Every morning Dan and I get up at around 6 and made every student and staff member staying at the centre a sandwhich, made of freshly made baguette. (Just take a moment here to imagine being starving… And the smell of hot, fresh bread… Now imagine touching it… Making SOMEONE ELSE a sandwich with it) We then serve each group (up to two sittings) a hot breakfast of French toast, scrambled eggs, bacon and roasted tomatoes. Then in the evening we serve dinner, tonight that consisted of roast chicken legs or Parmesan and risotto stuffed peppers, steamed broccoli, potato wedges followed by homemade rocky road.

SO as I lay in bed trrrrying to get out… I just couldn’t do it. I wouldn’t do it.
After his tiresome morning, Dan brought me my breakfast juice consisting of:
Carrot
Apple
Orange
Beet root
Ginger and mint
And it was amazing how energised I felt almost instantly.
I got out of bed, went for a 45 minute walk, did 15 minutes of ab Pilates and had a shower.
I felt like today would be a constructive day. I kept busy and had a juice every 3 hours or so.
Throughout the day I felt cloudy, I had energy but my head felt heavy and I almost felt like I had a cold coming on. I was also peeing like a racehorse!

Lunch consisted of:

Courgette
Celery
Fennel
Ginger
Spinach
4 apples
2 chunks of French pineapple

By 5pm I was furious. I was practically gnawing on my own arm in frustration and starvation.
Confession: It was here that I had a bite of a chocolate bar. But you no what? It wasn’t as good as I’d hoped, and it didn’t heal that aching in my stomach.
Dinner service was horrendous. I contemplated taking up boxing, glared at everyone who was eating… How dare they sit there gnawing on their delicious chicken bones…
Yet I couldn’t pick exactly what I wanted to eat most of all… What was I craving most? I couldn’t tell you… ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING.

Dinner:
1 melon
Carrots
Pineapple
Ginger
Lemon
Lime
Cucumber
Beetroot
Radish

20140709-210312-75792601.jpg

20140709-210318-75798954.jpg

20140709-210323-75803122.jpg

20140709-210311-75791824.jpg

20140709-210316-75796954.jpg

20140709-210320-75800679.jpg

One thought on “Day 2: Sweating and starving

Leave a Reply

